Architect + Industrial Design

hey … i am a practicing architect and lately i have been thinking of enrolling my self for a P.G in Industrial Design.

personally i think architecture and Industrial design has lots of similarities. for a nut shell i would say Buildings are end products of a design process. The same process that a product/ Industrial designer goes through… though the parameters might vary. have gone through some of designs that product designers come up with and it fascinates me. The course shall help enlighten me with material technology, prototyping, ergonomics and other subjects. Such skills would also help me reinforce my base in architecture

Some of the universities that i have considered applying are

Umea University of Design
Art Centre
RISD
IIT chicago

have some questions:

• My design works consists of only architectural buildings. Wanted to know if such a portfolio is accepted for applying to these universities. what is the probability of an architect to get enrolled to the course. please suggest me some portfolios that i can look on to…

• What are the plus and minus points that an architect will have with regard to industrial design.

• Which university will be more suited ?

Please put in your comments and suggestions. thanx alot

i transferred to industrial design before entering my 4th year of study in architecture. when i began to demonstrate my achitectural portfolio to some ID schools, it was clear some of those in the room didn’t understand the scope of my work. i think it would be best to demostrate your abilities from your design process. overloading isn’t a good idea, either, but it’s good to have some “in reserve” in case you aren’t getting the point across.

those are all excellent schools, i think you need to decide what area of industrial design you plan to focus on, also which school suits your style better. apparently money isn’t an issue.