Running 3ds with Virtual PC on G5

I work as an exhibit designer for a company that uses Mac’s. We’ve outgrown our current rendering program and we’re looking to change softwares. There are obviously fewer choices of 3D software on a mac platform, and 3ds has the animation capabilities that we desire. So my main question is … has anyone used 3ds on a Mac using Virtual PC? Is it noticably slower? My boss is a die hard Mac man but I’m hoping I can convince him that VPC will work for us if… it actually will work for us. Otherwise we have to try Cinema 4D which I’ve demoed and didn’t like. Maya’s great but it has a steap learning curve and it has few file import options. (we build our designs in Vectorworks)

Any comments would be much appreciated. Thanks!

I’ve used other programs with vpc but I think a really good renderer like that might kill it. Rhino works pretty well, but isn’t very memory intensive. SW is okay, but if you try to do just surfacing with SW it’ll grind down very quickly. I assume a full renderer with raytracing, etc might be a little too much. It tops out at 512mb of the mac’s memory it’ll use. Not sure how compatible or accurate it’s virtual graphics card matchup is for photo rendering. Never done any flamingo rendering or anything like that on it, not very knowledgable with photo renders.
If the specs say 3ds can work well with only 512 mb of available memory, then it may not be a problem. I think the newest vpc takes advantage of dual processors on osx. Never used that platform, not sure of the performance there. Good luck.

“Maya’s great but it has a steap learning curve and it has few file import options. (we build our designs in Vectorworks)”

did a quick check. i don’t see the issue. happy to confirm i can load a Vectorworks export. post a dummy iges or dxf. running Maya 5 so no support for stl here. sorry.