Idea for body armor and need HELP

I am not a designer but I have an idea for modifying a padded motorcycle jacket for use in paintball. I know what it should look like but have no clue on how to make it happen. HELP!!![/b]

Hire a designer. There are a few of us floating around.

Look through the portfolios (www.coroflot.com) and see if someone has the know-how and technical background.

The next step is getting it made. That’s the slippery slope. Unless you have a patent I wouldn’t try to walk into a manufacturer with your idea. They will rip it off.

Good luck.

Seams to me that is the problem with game playing in this modern culture. There is no pain in playing the game. Sure you can go fast on a motorcycle game. No punishment except in time for falling. The best part of paintball is the fact that there is a slight punishment (and bragging rights the next day at your job) with those curious round bruises.

Padding should be light and protect only eyes head and groin areas. Everywhere else should be light and sleek to minimize size.

I think you should start from scratch instead of modifying a motorcyle jacket.

The things a motorcycle jacket is supposed to do are:

*not snag when sliding on the ground (smooth sliding is safer than snagging)
*pad the elbows, shoulder and spine to protect them from damage when the body rolls (those are the most critical parts)
*extend over the lower back to cover that portion while riding (ass-crack area)
*zip into pants, when motorcycle pants are worn
*high neck to keep wind off
*vents to allow perspiration to blow off at 60 mph
*velcro closures etc. to keep wrist portion inside riding gloves
*removable lining to allow winter riding, off-season riding
*remove the pads to wash the item from time to time