Student looking to buy new computer

I’m looking to purchase a new computer very soon and was curious what is the best way to go. I have previously bought PCs but have had wayyy too many problems with them and conisdering buying a imac or macbook…Do you think having a laptop would be better? And how much ram and everything should it have? I’m looking to put on photoshop, illustrator, sketchbook pro, and solidworks.

thanks

The answers tend to be “it depends”. Mac’s are nice if you’re willing to pay the premium since you can get OSX and Windows to run on them just fine.

If you are willing to pay that extra price (which as a student, I always find you’re piss broke 99% of the time so less money = better) then a 15 or 17" Macbook Pro would be great. I had a Macbook Pro that was given to me for work, but after all was said and done I would rather have my Tablet PC over something thats just a nicely designed laptop.

If you want serious power then I’d stick to a desktop workstation and maybe get a really cheap laptop for email/photoshop on the go type of work. Sometimes better to try and get 2 different machines for different purposes rather then one super expensive machine to try and do it all.

For ram - 2 gigs is an ideal amount. 4 gigs you probably won’t ever use, and 1 gig isn’t enough for Windows XP with high end apps running.

Me personally – I’m a PC guy and most likely always will be. As long as your machine is built solidly, then problems you’ll have tend to be due to software issues.

Cyberdemon,

What tablet PC are you using or what can you recommend for tablet pc for ID who are into freelance work?

I use a Toshiba Tecra M7 - it’s their 14" version. I don’t believe many companies are selling 14" tablets anymore though.