internship if inexpierenced?

Hey everyone,
I recently came across an ad for a local company here in Florida looking for an intern. I’m considering contacting them about it however, I am still an inexperienced ID student (finishing first year) and have not completely developed my skill set. Do you think it would be a bad idea to apply for the internship and explain in my cover letter that I am a newer student? or would this reflect badly on me professionally?

what do you think ?

Ryan

Do it. It’s all experience for you. Just to show you’re interested. If they see something interesting developing, they may keep you in mind the next time you apply. It’s never bad to start practicing resumes, cover letters, and interviews early.

Go for it if you have the time and chance. Internships are always a good thing, especially when you are new. Even the bad ones are good experience and as a student you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

In terms of your skill set, I think you should just be honest. Communicate to them what skills you have but don’t make any apologies.
The fact that you are just starting out does not mean that you could not be useful to the company.
Be confident and highlight what you can do instead of what you can’t.

Good luck!!

Agreed, go for it. Nothing to lose. Worst case, you get experience applying and interviewing, and some contacts for applying later. No need to make any excuses. Your portfolio will show what you can offer. Just go into it with whatever you can.

I started looking for internships after first year as well, probably way early and was perhaps underqualified, but learnt a lot about the process and was in a good position when looking for real job a few years later where firms already had an idea of where I was coming from and could see my improvement.

best of luck,

R