Portfolio Feedback please

I’m a second year student and I’m looking to get an internship this summer. I know it’s a stretch but I figure it’s never too early to start looking.
Please if anyone can give me some feedback on my work, let me know where I can improve on anything I would really appreciate it.

www.coroflot.com/dangoodwin

Thanks!

I think you’ll want to put together something a little more formal to send to the potential employer- If you have design projects to show that would be better than samples images.

It’s possible to have an internship in your second year, I did it, although it was only for a little over a month. It really helped me learn about the industry though. If you can’t create a more formal portfolio, I doubt you’ll be considered for a full summer internship. And if that’s not possible, you might try doing some job shadowing or an unpaid type of internship…

The hope is to get an internship, but I’d be just as happy with a job shadow or unpaid internship. I just want to get out into the field and see professional design in action.

Do you suggest I create my own portfolio rather than using an online portfolio?

I’d suggest doing as much networking as you can. Talk to your professors and the career services people about your goals (looking for internship, or any type of experience in a design department or firm). They should be able to give you some options in your area. If you have to- offer to figuratively “serve coffee and sweep floors”. In your situation just show initiative.

Personally, I don’t mind online portfolios. Having your own portfolio as opposed to Core77 gives you an opportunity to be creative and show presentation/graphic ability as well. When I mentioned making it more formal, I guess what I was saying is that the link you posted doesn’t show projects in context. I see some of your abilities, but I’d be curious to see whatever you have showing process and problem solving.