Ideal Work space in the Office

I definitely need an inspiring work space and am curious to know how everyone works. My boss decided that he wanted to create an “open office” for our new space and I am worried…
Do you have an office? desk? cubby hole? windows?

I need to create my “area”, hang a bulletin board, reference books on a shelf, material samples all over the room, colors and music, natural light…

Does anyone really think that we can be confined to a desk with a computer in the middle of a room and that’s it?

no sir, my entire place is a studio including kitchen, bathrooms, and basement.

the open office concept is so over rated! it can work with the right people but… not often. I hate them but then again I am a bitter nasty designer:)

different people like and work with different styles. personally, I don’t like having my back exposed, I need a corner, wall, something.

It depends on the size of the place, and the people as someone pointed out above.

I used to work in an open studio with 5 other designers and 2 engineers, and for a bunch of fussy designers we got along great and the open studio was awesome. Our desks went around the perimiter with a huge confrence/work table in the middle and a Donkey Kong Jr arcade game off to the side. Most days we all worked at the confrence table sketching together on each other’s projects, except the two engineers, they where cranking proE. There was a lot of horsing around.

When I left for a large corporation, I came to a huge floor of cubicles (well more like pentagons, it’s Nike, we have to be different) in a space with 20’ ceilings and about 70 designers. The noise and camotion can be tough to get used to, but it’s pretty good, the open studio would never work at this scale. There is still a lot of horsing around.