Approaching companies with speculative work

Hi guys,

What is the best way to take my speculative projects to companies?

I would like to send presentations out but am afraid they will say no thank you then pursue the product on their own. On the other hand if I don’t show them the concept, how can I get them interested in doing business.

I am new at this so any opinions would help.

Thanks

get them to sign a NDA (Non-disclosure_agreement)

Would it be best to just grab their attention with a portfolio teaser, and maybe a concept overview. Then the NDA?

yes I guess so, It de[end whether you are trying to get a job with them or get them to manufacturer/develop your idea…two different things.

My first thoughts were about looking for companies that might want to develop my idea. I suppose I would take work if they were interested in working with me on a different project, but my goal is to present a product for them to develop and produce.

thanks again

Are you just showing people pretty pictures or actually laying out a business proposal/product strategy that will demonstrate how your idea will make someone money?

If you actually want somone to buy off on your idea, you should be providing relevant marketing data that backs up the need for your idea as well as demonstrate that if it is sold at a certain price point, it will generate X amount of revenue or allow ABC company to capture X percentage of market share. Do you have a preliminary merchandising strategy worked out?

Did you do some kind of preliminary patent search to make sure your idea is actually novel? Anyone can do that by visiting the USPTO website.

Do you have the rough details of the engineering of the product figured out? Are you aware of any testing standards it will be subject to?

Realize that you are talking to bean counters, marketing people, engineers and then maybe other designers when you pitch your idea to a company.