Is this forum dead?

only a few here post answers to questions. or try to. and if this is the attitude Maya Books why would anyone bother?

Politics.

It doesn’t seem right for designers to help one another because technically they are competitors.

I’m a student, so it doesn’t seem right that I help a professional too.

If I ask a question on concept, I will be accused of trying to steal other’s ideas.

If I ask about a research, I will be accused of being lazy to do my own.

Seriously, I pretty much lost all my enthusiasm about this precious design professional forum after a few weeks.

If you want info on Maya books I suggest you go to a forum for video game designers/artists/animators. They use the application more often than IDers.

There are a few on this forum that do help out.

I know how you feel YKH. I have to thank you for commenting often on my questions and comments, even when I don’t agree with you :slight_smile:

It feels like there are about 5-10 people that utilize this forum…and half are unemployed or students who have many questions and few answers. Anyone have an idea why designers don’t seem to want to discuss design?

I don’t think I agree with molested cow that it is politics/competition. With so few people ever posting, I just don’t think it is likely I will be in competition with them anytime soon. In real life I have held back from telling people about opportunities that I wanted though.

Could it be that the profession that we have such great passion for contains just as many apathetic souls as the rest? I hope not. Or is it that designers are so busy eating yellow foam and being yelled at engineers/marketers that they have no free time left to chat? Perhaps in a few cases…any other ideas?

Maybe because ‘design’ is an unabashedly visual medium. And we’re trained to (and are comfortable to) express things with drawings, sketches and mockups. A letter-length post might be too difficult for most designers.