Need Advice: Switching to Industrial Design

Hey everyone.

I have been lurking in the shadows here and on several sites for the past year or so, and I feel like there is a huge collective of informed and insightful participators on this board. Thus, I feel like I can tell you all my story. I am a 26 year old from Atlanta with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. I have had a passion for Design for many years, however I was under the impression that Mechanical Engineers perform many of the tasks that designers do. By the time I got my diploma I felt pretty stupid. The market is also saturated so getting a job in any design capacity is laughable if you don’t have a 4.0 and 5 years of research and industry experience. I have been in the HVAC (Comfort Cooling) industry for about two years and it has been everything I feared. I decided a few months ago that I was going to make the switch from Mechanical Engineering to Industrial Design. I am currently enrolled at Academy of Art University in SF taking Online Classes just to get started. My plan is that after my fiance and I get married this fall, I am going to begin applying at various more respected schools and hopefully nail it down.

I have the following quandaries:

• I am 26 and already have 5 years of technical education (Graduated Honors from Georgia Tech) under my belt. Should I try and go Graduate Level or is it of more benefit to me to tough it out in the trenches, and start at square one as and Undergrad.

• I don’t have a portfolio. Period. I lost everything I had in a flood last year, so all of my work that could even be tangentially related is gone.

• I don’t know the requisite software. I don’t have and can’t afford Photoshop, Alias, pro-E. As it is I can barely afford school, which is paid for by loans. I know AutoCad and Ashlar-Vellum Graphite like a champ, though and have logged several thousand hours using them professionally. However it has simply been for 2D drafting of HVAC floorplans, no 3D.