Looking to make a career pivot

March 12th, 2019, 10:37 pm

yo_duk
Quick background. It's been 7 years since I got my bachelor's degree in ID, 6 years since my first full-time gig. I've been through both consultancy and corporate environments, currently working in the Bay Area.

I'm beginning to think about the possibility of going back to school for some sort of Masters program though I don't know exactly what. All I know is that I have some interest (but no experience) in AI, Robotics, Programming.. Ideally, I'd like to transition into a field that leans more on my idea generation, problem solving and technical ID skills (proficiency in CAD, 2D design programs) rather than creating beautiful aesthetics.

Why do I want to do this? Because to be honest, I'm feeling a little burned out. While I actually enjoy the aesthetic development of products I work on, it's also been the source of stress/friction I have with design jobs, among other little things. I'll spare you the details but I simply don't feel cut for taking the lead on aesthetic decisions based on experiences I've had so far.

I'm wondering if there are any fields out there where I can still utilize the skills I've honed thus far, but also related to some of my interests I listed? Maybe there's an ID niche I can look into?

Any input or advice is appreciated!
ralphzoontjens
full self-realization
full self-realization
Coroflot: 76078