Engineering and other costs in a project

Hey guys! My name is Raffael and this is my first post here:)

I’ve just stablished a new design studio in Brazil and I’m having some trouble quoting projects for clients. I have worked with packaging but I have no experience in electronics, mechanical or other complex design fields.

Unfortunately, I don’t have an engineering department yet. So, in your opinion, how the costs of engineering relates to a project? Should it be included in the design proposal? How is it possible to calculate all this costs upfront? How do you usually explain those “extra costs” to clients with no experience in the design development process?

Brazilian design is young and I think there’s a bad culture here of ignoring these stages in a proposal or even absorbing the costs later because of poor communication.

Thank you!!!

Unless you have partnered with an engineering firm, it would be entirely out of turn for you to quote engineering costs, or any other costs not provided by your firm.

You certainly can give your clients a heads up that additional work will need to be done to get the product made, but you are not responsible for the actual cost numbers. It is your client’s responsibility to source, hire and get quotes for these other services.

iab is right, unless you have experience project managing engineers to scoping engineering tasks, then I would not recommend writing a proposal… ironically I’ve gotten work coming the other direction where they have already scoped ID but have no capability to do the work… they are usually bummed when it costs more than expected and it eats into their profit margin. Dom’t let that happen to you!