The Accidental Designer - thoughts

So… there is no need to go into my background too deeply… I have a BS in mechanical engineering, worked at a graphic design shop during college doing menial tasks but became an Adobe wizard, did a lot of basic layout work, some medium-skill dimensional stuff of importance (fancy signs and display), and morphed into a web developer. At the moment I work in IT doing web dev BUT I spend a lot of time now developing cases to use in public-facing spaces on end user devices → 3D printed things for practical use, and am now being tasked to create prototype modifications to furniture to demonstrate a concept. I have always wanted to be an industrial designer, but never got the degree (was my intention, but fate chose otherwise).

Up to this point I’ve been pretty happy with my output - designing clever doodads to solve issues - short run prints (typical quantities are 50) - experimentation with multi-material printing. But I’m increasingly getting “depressed” that I’m going about this all wrong. That is, I want to improve my skill in a way that complements my job. I’m not expecting I’ll make a living designing stuff, but I want to be more INTENTIONAL about my design. And I feel like I’m floundering - I start out with something blocky to get my dimensions all right, and then refine the shape until it looks pretty.

What should I do?

PS - I literally work next to an Art & Design school, but they eschewed ID degrees years ago for plain old art degrees so I don’t think there are any courses I could take there.

When you say the school eschewed ID degrees for art degrees, are you saying they offer BFA’s in ID? Or that they got rid of the ID department?