How to sit less

Alright.

This is something that as designers we all probably face quite often. Apparently it’s the source of a lot of chronic disease and general ill health. I’m talking about the dreaded office chair.

I have been in the industry for nearly four years now and prior to being a designer I worked in typically labour intensive jobs (wood machinist, hardware sales and service, landscaping, factory work), so I know what it’s like to stand all day. Sure, your legs hurt sometimes, but generally you feel pretty good.

In my last and current jobs, I have found myself doing a s@#t load of sitting. I’m talking 80-90% of my day. So I spend at least 6 hours sitting most days. This includes sketching, 3D modelling, rendering etc… The moments when I get to walk around or stand are usually pretty scarce and may be one day a week of mostly standing, building models, prototypes, modifying existing designs, talking to factory supervisors.

Anyway, I want to get a lot more standing and walking in my day. I actually work for a furniture manufacturer who have “sit to stand” height adjustable legs available, but unfortunately have not implemented them in the office, so I may need to retrofit a desk add-on.

Does anyone here actively take steps to sit less? If yes, how and this may seem like a strange question, but did you meet resistance from management/colleagues?

If you guys have a sit-stand solution I would make a case for it with your manager or whoever you need to speak with about it. If this does not work, or you don’t think it would work, you could suggest trying a competitors product for some good competitive analysis, say maybe an airtouch :wink:

There are plenty of people doing hacks out there, google image search will give you lots of ideas.
I have a sit-stand desk, but also will walk over to work in a cafe area at a higher bar like table where I can alternate between a stool and standing easily.

Also remember…