Community workshop

After reading the article on the main page entitled “Designing the ideal Industrial Design program” I got to thinking about my own design education.

I left school early and had quite a few shitkicker jobs (roustabout on sheep shearing stations, landscaper, chocolate factory worker, supermarket storeman, car radiator factory worker) before attending trade school at the age of 21.

At trade school I studied woodworking for 6 months and landed a job as a wood machinist/assembly person/spray painter in a gymnastics equipment factory, so by time I entered university I knew how to weld, operate routers, mills and lathes and generally knew how to hold a hammer and which screw driver bit was which.

Now I’ll get to my point… When I went to uni, we had a workshop, but it was open from 9-4 mon-fri with a huge 1 hour lunch right in the middle. I often went home and built models in my shed or backyard, often running back and forth from the hardware store to pick up a new file or some sandpaper or a scraper, which cost a lot of money over the 4 years.

I had an idea of starting a community workshop where young designers could come and build stuff and was wondering if anyone has heard of this sort of thing anywhere before. I have quite a few tools and know-how, but would need some more equipment and a space to house it all. I’m sure students or start up/ freelance designers would pay to use a workshop that was open during more hours than 9-5. I know there are some legal issues, but I think it would be a cool idea.

Any thoughts?