IDSA conf. price tag

Can anyone tell me why the IDSA conference costs approx. $1200 to attend? I thought design was meant for everyone. As a designer I cannot afford this outrageous price tag. :open_mouth:

Most of the money isn’t in the ticket itself but more in where you are going to stay, what your going to eat, and how your getting there and back.

I would love to go but I can’t afford it either, but on the up side I do get out of some classes while my teachers are gone.

That is just for the ticket to get in the door. Rooms and food are extra

True! Check out
www.Airbedandbreakfast.com if you are still looking for a place to stay during the conference. There are 5 hosts in the Phoenix area and its a great way to stay with local designers at affordable prices!

I think this comes up every year… let the games begin!

I agree it is getting a bit old. If you look at other associations and conferences they are just as expensive. It is not a trade show it is a conference. If you want to go to a cheap IDSA event go to the district.

Here are some other things worth $1200:

2 days of freelance at $75/hr
Travel and lodging while at the conference
1/30th of annual college tuition at a private design school
1 Apple MacBook
1 Canon prosumer camera (40D)
1 Eames LCW chair
1 Adobe Creative Suite premium
2 roundtrip airline tickets across the country

Add these to the list:

At least one month’s rent (maybe two or three)
A few car payments
At least 6 months of food
A few gallons of gas

I had to throw the last one in. But those of us without sponsorship through work or tax write offs have problems forking out this kind of dough. Hell, I live 15 minutes from the conference, but it might as well be on Mars for the price. I will just sit at home and read my ID magazine in my knock off Eames chair I got on Craigslist. Have fun at the parties for us broke kids! :smiley:

You’re moving pretty far down Maslow’s hierarchy of needs with that list.