Learning Solidworks for ID

Hey everyone,

I am switching from Rhino at my company to Solidworks and will be starting on the built-in modules first before assessing the purchase of an outside training program. I have some CAD knowledge (I know Rhino extremely well, and have dabbled in Fusion 360 and Solidworks. I understand the basic program structure of Solidworks.) I am going to start with the very basics to refresh my self of the tree, basic functions, etc. but I was curious from a design standpoint what you would recommend targeting with my training first? I have done a little searching on google and as you can imagine I am finding a TON from the engineering side, but not a lot of inputs from designers. Searching anything about industrial design and Solidworks just brings up their program “Solidworks Industrial Design.”

Thanks!

If you pay for LinkedIn premium you have access to Solidworks videos/tutorials. Might be good to give it a shot. I’m also in the process of transitioning to SW from a PTC Creo product.

Surfacing on SW is a bitch compared to Rhino.

If you know Rhino well and apply the same logic to surfacing in SolidWorks it should be fine. It takes more time to get all the sketches (“curves”) down but at least when they are done they are easily edited and manipulated and the surface can be changed at any time.

Yes and I feel Rhino is meant after engineers have spec’d out the product from a functional point of view.
I mean, if we change the wheelbase on a vehicle, how will the surfacing reorient in Rhino vs. Solidworks?
Solidworks is the preferred option for anything where surfacing does not get too crazy.

Check out my tutorial at Grabcad on surface modelling of a soccer cleat, it treats some basic surfacing techniques such as lofts/sweeps + trimming, fills and boundary surfaces.