The day I thought would never come... the interview

Hi, So I graduated in 2008 and apart from a seven month adventure exploring the world and some freelance work (graphics, brand and web) I have been working non stop to improve my portfolio, website, projects, cover letter to find that all illusive first Junior Product Design role. It now seems that all my hard work has paid off as I have my first interview, and for a job that I really really want! I’m now trying to finish off my portfolio but had a few questions about further preparation.

Are there any questions that are likely to be asked that I can start thinking about now?

I’m planning on taking my portfolio, a digital copy that I can leave with them, an example of a product that I designed that is now on sale, a project from university which covers the entire process (to support pages in my portfolio) and possibly a couple of business cards, (thinking about it I might need quite a big bag!) is there anything else I should consider?

I’ve been searching the boards about what to wear to an interview, but all the subjects cover guys, any tips for girls?!

Is there anything else that I can do to prepare for quite a daunting situation?

I’m very excited but also very nervous, any feedback or helpful comments would be greatly appreciated!

Well done! I have just had the same news and came straight here to ask similar questions. I just think to get an interview in the first place they must like your work. I’m excited and really nervous. The job is 5 hours from where I live too so it would be a big decision. I have a slight problem, the day before my interview I have to attend court as a witness, this means I’d likely have to travel over night meaning I would look dopey in my interview :frowning: I’m guessing there’s no chance of my asking to switch an interview to another date?