Correct sketching!

I am going through a difficult phase!! sigh!!

I have been sketching for the past three years and I suddenly realise that my sketches lack character …information… :frowning:

All my sketches look alike and somehow never manage to carry details like fillets,parting lines,chamfers,or minute surface changes

I introspected on this for some time and came down to the conclusion that maybe I need to observe products more closely…but somehow I am not being able to gather the patience to do that…

I dream of reaching a stage where I can make quick and communicative sketches and this sudden feeling confuses me and reduces my confidence level…

SOMEBODY PLEASE ADVISE!! :confused:

Have you tried this? www.thegnomonworkshop.com/dvds/sro01.html
If not, go for it. It might help you a lot.

Have you tried this? www.thegnomonworkshop.com/dvds/sro01.html
If not, go for it. It might help you a lot.

Can anyone recommend (or not) any of those other DVD’s on the gnomen site? Anyone find the digital ones useful?

Thanks vismard,deez…

Deez…I really cant understand when the sketch is done…maybe a problem with my perception of three dimensional objects…but all I know is that its not happening…I am not being able to get the leads with what I am doing…

I am confused to a limit…I feel I should just stop sketching…but then something in me forces me to get back again…and i keep getting frustated all the more…

My mind has stopped working!!

I am trying to put up a few of my sketches…

i’m only comparativley new to this, however i and some others in my ID drawing class have had simmilar problems. we are encouraged not to be too “precious” with our work. i have found that the more quick sketches you do, the looser you will get, and the more interesting and accurate your work will be. something that helped me was also to use really cheap paper, it makes you worry less about making mistakes.