More on the barefoot vs. shoe debate

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/06/08/are-we-built-to-run-barefoot/

And with Fair Use in mind, this was my favorite quote,

On this point, he and all of the scientists agree. Humans may have been built to run barefoot, “but we did not evolve to run barefoot with bad form.”

Great article!

I’ve been hiking for a few years now and a few years ago started barefoot hiking, helps with traction and feeling the terrain around you. Over the past 5 months I’ve been working towards barefoot running, but still have running shoes. The next step of course is a lightweight shoe or some 5 fingers.

Remove your shoes for the last mile of your usual run and ease into barefoot running over a period of weeks

[/quote]

I disagree with what this doctor is saying about removing your shoes, but agree with it taking a period of weeks. To run barefoot one needs to start altering their form with shoes on and gradually strengthen all the muscles.

good article.

I’m loving the barefoot-natural-minimal Koolaid.

I don’t know about that. It seems the barefoot-natural-minimal is backed by evidence and the shoe crowd is pouring the Koolaid.

Well whichever way, I’m barefoot for 90% of my workouts, and in Innov8 195’s for all my running.

It’s pretty obvious when you think about it. Heel-striking allows all of the force while running to shoot up your legs through your knees. Striking with the front pad of the foot allows the entire foot to act as a shock absorber. That’s part of the natural running concept.

As for barefoot running, I would recommend easing into it. Break your feet in slowly and cautiously.

Runners, throw out those thick healed shoes. They force you to heel-strike.

Similar. I go barefoot (socks) for most work outs and Nike Free 3.0 for running… though I’m no where near as buff as Brett! I saw New Balance has a nice looking minimal line out as well, I might give those a try.
http://www.newbalance.com/nb-minimus/