Please dissect my portfolio

Portfolio
Hello everyone!

I’m a graduate student at Academy of Art University in SF, graduating this spring. If you have the time, your feedback would be incredibly helpful for me as I move forward applying to internships and jobs.

My current portfolio is mostly industrial design projects, but as I started out in graphic design and have heard through the grapevine that branding/logo skills are becoming more valuable in ID, I’ve opted to keep some GD projects in my portfolio as well. I’m not sure if this comes across as confusing or gives a sort of “jack of all master of none” vibe though.

The main questions I have are:
How do you think the projects are presenting now? What is confusing, where are there holes within the projects? Which are strong/weak?
What is missing from my portfolio as a whole?
Where do you think I should be spending my time in this final semester? Refining these projects, creating new ones, practicing/demonstrating a skillset?

Thanks so much for taking the time to review my work, the feedback I’ve been getting has really helped reshape how I view my portfolio and I’m looking forward to hearing from this group!

Josh

Joshua,

Thanks for sharing.

You have a strong presentation style. Your giff game is off the charts and it looks like you are using some 3D PDFs as well maybe?

I really enjoyed the Eau Claire rebranding. Nice work thinking through all the issues there.

The Nike Loam shoe is nice. The thinking is good, I think you could have pushed the aesthetic more and show more iterations and variation in the concept stage. One small question, you state the upper, midsole, and outsole materials. I think you should also specify the laces, and the adhesive. The adhesive is often the least green part of the shoe. Side note, I’ve noticed an uptick in people complaining to me about their shoes delaminating. I’m guessing this is related to companies switching to more water based adhesives.