Portfolio/website feedback

Hi guys,

So I’ve been applying for co-ops for Spring 2019 and I haven’t been getting as many responses from employers as I’ve gotten from my previous co-op searches. I feel like my portfolio might not seem that great for someone in my year and I’m looking for advice and critiquing. Please don’t hold back, if it’s not good say something.

For my design program I have to have five co-ops, so I have two more (Spring and Fall 2019) before I graduate in 2020. I’ve co-oped at a consultancy and two medical companies, and I’m trying to go away a bit from medical so I have a wider range of skills. Also because I have a interest in technology and a degree in engineering, my ideal jobs would be a place where I could use new technology for creative design solutions.

I have a link to my portfolio on my website here DVAN | DESIGN and feel free to check stuff out on the site as well.

edit Michael pointed out that it could be inconvenient to go to my site and download the portfolio so here is a google drive link

Also here’s my old portfolio from last year

The attachment is a new short project I worked on early this semester in Japan

Thanks!
D’Van

I think that it’s currently lacking breadth of problem solving, and I want to see more brainstorming and conceptual development. I.e. did you think about a wide variety of ways to solve the problem?

The technical process content (sketch, CAD, proto etc.) seems to be there, particularly for the spray gun, but you haven’t given it enough dominance or air-time. For example, on page 16 in the bottom right corner, if I zoom right in, do I see a functioning prototype with all of the components? Definitely show this! If you can show me the how and why your gun is the way it is, informed by a potentially working example, it makes the project way more interesting to me to look at. Show the journey as much as the final design.