RISD/Pratt

April 12th, 2006, 4:01 pm

Clementine
Hoping you all can help me out.....

I've been accepted to Pratt and RISD next year for a MID and am now trying to decide between the two - I'd love advice! I love the feel of RISD and the facilities are incredible but I like that Pratt is expansive in scope and is art based. Pratt's program is also longer which might be useful as I am new to the field. I want to learn about the industry as well as the history and theory of design, but I also want to learn the skills while at school. I want to have time to make and create.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

April 13th, 2006, 2:14 pm

ScriptD
step two
step two
When did you hear from Pratt and how did they contact you? I have not heard a word in a couple weeks.

April 13th, 2006, 3:05 pm

Clementine
I received an email and a package in the mail about a month ago. Have you heard anything? You should definitely contact admissions.

April 13th, 2006, 3:09 pm

ScriptD
step two
step two
I met with Rick Goodwin about two weeks ago and he had told me two weeks from then I should hear something...Looks like it might be bad news for this guy.

April 13th, 2006, 4:27 pm

Clementine
Email them! They should let you know one way or another regardless.

Good luck!!!

April 13th, 2006, 5:40 pm

Cyberdemon
full self-realization
full self-realization
Honestly no one is going to be able to answer the question for you.

You should probably look at your wants and needs in the program and go from there. Where do you think you'd fit in better? Where would you rather live? Is price an issue, etc.

Regardless of where you go you'll have time to make and create. After going to the North East IDSA conference and seeing work from all different schools, it really seems like you can do just about whatever you want as long as you're willing to push yourself. Having good facilities is a big plus though, especially if you plan on doing a lot of hands on modelling.