Getting a Masters in Industrial Design

I’m currently a sophomore graphic design student. I was conflicted between choosing graphic design or industrial design as my major at the beginning, but I ultimately chose graphic design with the mindset that I could pursue a master’s in industrial or product design. This way I’d have expertise in both fields. Are there any schools that would be suitable for somebody like me? I’m mostly looking at universities that are overseas for my master’s, because I’m from the US. I’m also looking for a program that is more oriented towards the artistic aspect of design (drawing, model-making) rather than the engineering side. It also can’t be insanely expensive, but I’m fairly flexible when it comes to graduate school. Let me know what you think!

Delft
Design Academy Eindhoven
Royal College of Art

Switch into ID now and pursue a graduate degree in graphic design. Far easier to go from ID into graphics.

+1 to what Dan said.

+2. In my experience it seems like there is much more opportunity to do graphic design as an offshoot of products than to get a graphic design job and occasionally design a physical product. Graphic ability is a good complement to an ID portfolio/resume, but product design is a harder skill to tack onto a graphic designer role.

Plus, a masters degree in ID isn’t necessarily valuable in itself. It takes time and effort to cultivate the skill set and ultimately it will be about your portfolio and what you can actually do if you want a product design job. That said, I’ve seen folks with ID masters that have zero design skills, but I’ve also seen people who really pushed themselves in a masters program and became great designers—it just took that much more self-motivation and drive.