My findings, what are yours?

I am an industrial design student at the university of kansas. I have been looking into other schools as Kansas in general is not the best place to be if your looking into break into design. I stared looking at portfolios in coroflot.com/ and comparing students who went to KU, and work from other schools. It really seems KU is behind the bar. It is a great program, ID has been there for 40+ years, but the students dont seem to have the skills of other schools. That being said, i was not overly impressed with schools like pratt, or parsons. detroit ccs seemed to have a lot of quality portfolios, as did cranbrook academy of art, art center was good, but not as good as you would think if you looked at these boards for five mintues. Big suprise, I liked a lot of the work from art institiute grads, they all seemed to have a good range of skills and not all uniform. You can tell some schools are mass producing the same designers. Advantage art institues who seems to be all over the county, but they still might not have the teachers some other do. So, has anyone else seen any trends here?

interesting, while i still think it is more person to person than school to school, i see your point on mass production of designers. I think the best schools are the ones that bring out the most varied students. it seems the art institutes are able to do that because they are spread around the county, and they all seem to be small. Interesting how some schools get greats reps and dont really produce.

I can speak from personal experience that CCS is a very good school, and I had a lot of fun there. There is a large automotive focus program there, but what can you expect, it’s in Detroit. They have nice facilities, and even though it’s located in downtown Detroit it’s relatively safe.