Working in the USA

greetings coroflotians!
i presume most of you are american, so answering these simple questions will be very easy. i am a rookie from the UK and i graduated nearly two years ago. since then i had one internship, which was very brief. i am planning to do some more internships in europe before i gather my stuff and fly over the pond. my question to everyone is;

1. what kind of qualities does a prospective employer in the states look for in a foreign (alien) designer?

2. would it be easier for me to land a job in the states if i already have a work visa (GREEN CARD)?

3. as there are so many designers in the US, will the prospective employer actually look at an application from a foreign (alien) designer?

From my experience.

1: Talent/Skills ( a good accent is a bonus )
2: Hell yes. Especially for small places, design firms, ect.
3: Yes. It’s a global marketplace, and most companies, esp those with international business, really look to have a diverse global perspective within their design team.

1. except indian

yeah. no indians or chinese.

1. what kind of qualities does a prospective employer in the states look for in a foreign (alien) designer?

Ability to sketch well and fast.

thanks yo, how much do you think it will cost for me to get a green card? i hope its not that expensive. by the way i have a very good accent and i drink tea a lot.

ML340 i thought you were a busy and important HR person, is that the best answer you can give me?

by the way i have a very good accent and i drink tea a lot.

so do i. unfortunately its a southern accent and iced tea, which doesnt seem to work as well.

I just trashed 2 inches of portfolios and resumes you kids have worked countless hours on, out of spite for that comment.

Talk to someone who gives a F#$K… :unamused:

Your immaturity is getting old.

well done!
do you want a medal for that?
i don’t think you are working very hard.
why don’t you trash couple of more inches and come back?