Women in ID

I am a female undergraduate considering a career in ID, and would like more information regarding the struggles that women face while breaking into the field. I know that ID is male-dominated–does this help or hurt my chances of getting a job? I often hear people say that employers look for talent and motivation, etc, not gender, but I imagine that is mostly optimistic encouragement, not necessarily reality. Comments? Advice?

it’s reality though, if you are talented i don’t see why being a woman could be an issue. I think it’s a plus.

I would say that if you can sketch and are talented you would have an advantage because you are a hot woman - which guys always want around them. With that said there is a glut of people going into ID compared to 8 years ago which has made the field saturated, which leaves lots of graduates out in the cold looking for another profession and in general brings down the pay scale for everyone. That’s the cold truth, I pity the recent graduate!

In many cases women IDers are more wanted by companies.

contact some women in the field and ask them about the challenges they face and for any advice they may have.

here’s one woman-owned firm for you to check out – http://www.everydaystudio.com