Will copyright protect my ideas in any way?

Hey guys, I’m a student, and i’m working on my portfolio. I have several ideas that i think would look great in my portfolio. However, I have an impulse not to share them because they would be easy to prototype and demonstrate, probably would have some amount of commercial appeal, would be cheap to manufacture, and do not exist in the marketplace. But since I’m a student, I have no time or capital to pursue development of these ideas. My job right now is to get internships and portfolio views.

I’ve done a little research into patent law, called some attorneys, and it seems like even a provisional utility patent will cost at least several hundred dollars that I don’t have in legal fees. I’m trying to learn how to get the forms and knowledge to file provisional patents myself, but it’s quite a project, and I’m not sure I have the time.

What I’ve done is to copyright diagrams and descriptions of a few of these ideas. Copyright is cheap and can be done easily online. Copyright will not protect me like a patent, because copyright only covers the exact wording and diagrams that you submit, not the idea. My reasoning is that if I were to find out that someone was using one of my ideas, I could extract royalties through a lawsuit or the threat of one. Copyright doesn’t protect the idea, but it proves that I had the idea at a certain point in time. If I filed a copyright on the idea before the other guy filed a patent, wouldn’t this prove prior art and in theory invalidate their patent?

Has anyone here heard of something like this working or would I be trampled in court? Alternatively, does anyone here have experience in filing provisional patents themselves? Is it something that is within the reach of a literate and determined ID student?

Simple answer -no, and don’t bother. First off, I am not a lawyer…