Why do YOU render?

hey hope someone can clear this up for me, for quite sometime now a nagging doubt has persisted, always at the back of my mind, whenever i doodle sketch or do comp work.

1. ) as a professional designer, my sketches would not be done for the public, they would be drawn specifically for the person who is going to pay for the shoe to be made, to convince him that this shoe will work, and make money for his boss.

2. this person who i do my first sketches for, he is the head of design where i work / some designer senior to me.

3. he has had a lot more experience than i have, so presumably he will be wise enough to look at the design and not the rendering, and as he has seen / drawn so many similar products, he knows what its going to look like, he builds a mental picture.

4. assuming he likes it, i then have to convince the engineer / mould maker etc how it should look. they are also not the general public, so why colour the rendering?

5. in all the above steps, would not a mere line drawing suffice? or atleast a pencil shading to show the shape?

then why do designers use 3d modelling software etc which make their designs look ultra realistic, anyway all the designer has to do is draw a product for the man who is going to make it, and only well enough for him to understand it.

so tell me, why do YOU render? what drives your work: visual appeal, or solid design? are they mutually exclusive?

the question boils down to-
am i training to be an artist or a designer?

i would really like some views from everyone, students and pros, as well as any non-designers here.

note: ive made some assumptions in my train of thought, kindly tell me if they’re incorrect.