Why Cars??

I’m being completely serious when I ask this question: Why do so many industrial designers have an obsession with drawing cars?

Every time I open someone’s sketchbook it’s always filled with tons of car sketches. The Core77 forums seem predominately taken up by slicked out car renderings. This phenomena has been baffling me forever so I really want to know: If you do, why do you draw cars? Is it something inherent in a car’s geometry that makes it fun to draw? Is it because cars are more relatable to people outside of design? Do you want to go into automotive design in the future? Is it just a gender thing?

In no way am I trying to say that sketching cars is bad; I’m just very curious.

I started drawing cars when I was about 9. I poured over my dad’s Motor Trend and Car&Driver magazines for days on end. To me, there was just something so cool about cars and drawing them was one way to learn more about them. Funny thing is I haven’t really drawn any cars in a long time. I just haven’t had the interest in it. I love seeing car sketches, and discussing automobiles and other forms of transportation, I just haven’t sketched any cars in years.

Maybe when I’m snowed in this weekend I’ll get on that…

I don’t think it’s too much of a gender thing, although it could be. I think it just happens to be a common interest. Every year model is like a fashion show, except we see concepts well before the actual product. There’s a certain mystique to the auto industry, in that something you design will be seen and used by so many people. Of course the same can be said for footwear or consumer electronics. But, I certainly don’t think that’s a bad thing.

Agreed - in fact I’m a massive proponent of JH Crawford (http://www.carfree.com) and his much referenced “A Pattern Language” - I want to get rid of cars.