Who inspired you to become a designer

As an addendum to the other running thread about the formative years I’d like to
split the “inspiration - role model part” into another thread.

So, I’ll start it:

My parents both were teachers by profession, but were used to build a
lot of stuff for our cribs themselves.

Role Model one:
But my real inspiration lies in the generation before. One of my grandfathers teached
us guys everything about mechanics, woodworking and stuff. He had a big double garage
at his house and one on the opposite in the garden, which doubled as garden shed and
labratory. I remember him one time coming in, telling my cousin and me that the lawn
mower was shot. We had to disassemble and “repair” it. Today I am pretty sure it was
working well enough, before we fiddled with it…

The younger brother of him was in a league of his own, though. He is aircraft mechanic
by trade, and started to built his own cars out of wrecks when in his 20ies. The first one
was an stunning Fiat Ballila roadster, which he hacked and built into a milk lorry when
the war was over. That lorry ran for another 20 years…

When the iron curtain came down and material became available again to him he used
his senior years to built not one but two ships of completely different designs.

Well. My cousin became an mechanical engineer, my brother and I Industrial Designers…

The difference between the cousin and us was that we found additional inspiration in an
old couple of painters and sculpters, who lived at the spanish coast, near to our holiday
crib of the time.

So bringing art and mechanics together is what I like to do today.

mo-i

James Bond.

Wouldn’t that be Q?

Yes Q is correct, thanks!!!

Can’t pinpoint exactly who. But it was either Ronaldinho, Kaka, Ronaldo, or Messi: