which wacom to choose?

Hello,

I am a recent grad in industrial design and im looking to purchase a wacom tablet for rendering. I saw that the tablets come in a few differant sizes and i want to know which size is the best. Id hate to get one thats too small or pay for one thats too big when i really didnt need it. I was thining about maybe 6x8 ( fits in my budget) but that just seems kinda small. any thoughts?

Wondered the same thing when I was looking…

Although the big one is nice, some have said that the good thing about the 6 x 8 is its portability - if you have a laptop, it may very well fit into your laptop briefcase.

I went with the compromise - the 6 x 11 tablet.

If you’re willing to go with the lower model (most of the reviews I saw discouraged it and said the Intuos is more solid), I believe there is a bluetooth graphire so that you’re wireless…

I’ve been using an inuos2 6x8 for a year and a half now. I had an OLD 9x12 before this and I actually prefer the smaller one. Portability is definately a plus, while still being large enough to sketch on. I would not recommend a graphire, the difference between them is noticable.

If you can afford it, I would highly recommend the cheaper cintiq for about $1500 (i think). Although it’s definetly a jump in price from the intuos, it’s very natural and you don’t have to pay for a computer monitor, so you’re effectively saving at least $200 there.

I’ve used all of them and I own a 9x12 and the 9x12 is too big, its works great but my complaint is it takes up too much desk space. If you have a way to store it great. I works so well I dont use my mouse anymore.

boots

Thanks for all your input. ill probally go with the 6x8 intuos3 now. ive never used one of these before- do you have to set your working area to about 6x8 too for the best results or does it work okay no matter what size image u work on?