Where does the money go?

Does anyone out there think that spending two or three times the amount to go to pratt or parsons or any of those very expensive schools is getting that much more than a state ID program or a less expensive art school? I dont, know, thats why im asking. Has anyone attended both and found a Huge difference? I would be interested to know.

My school takes about $25k a year from us and I wonder where that goes too…

I got my degree from a university. Then, I ended up going to CCS to get some extra classes/skills. CCS was roughly $500 a credit hour and I can tell you that the quality of education was considerably higher. Alot of these schools, like Pratt, CCS, Art Center, etc specialize in art and design. That being the case they get some of the best professors in the field, not to mention much corporate sponsorship and involvement. The CCS automotive design program, for example, gets alot of involvment from the auto industry as it’s located in Detroit. You’re not only paying for a higher quality of education at these institutions, but also for a better shot at internships, contacts in the industry, and jobs out of school.

This isn’t to say that there aren’t public schools with good programs, there are, but you’ll have to dig around a little more to find the one that suits you and your budget. Location is also a factor to consider. If a public school with a design program is located near alot of industry there’s a better chance of industry involvment, unlike, say, Texas A&M which is literally in the middle of nowhere.

You will not like my answer.

Clearly, much of the money is used to pay salaries. HOWEVER, it doesn’t cost 25K to educated a kid unless there is an unusually small class size. Thus, I have also wondered where all the money goes.