What's next step?

I have couple companies that I really like to work for.
I sent my packages any way even though they did not advertise the openings.
I haven’t heard from them and now…WHAT’S NEXT? :unamused:

Should I wait and re-apply? or should I call them and ask?
Oh, I graduated at the top in my class and have strong folio.
Any advice will be great help… :slight_smile:

first of all, i advise you not to consider yourself as the top of the class nor should you ever think that you have the strong portfolio.
even if you think it is true…

you are NOT competing your small number of classmates anymore.
you are out in the open, competing people all over the place who will be far more skilled and experienced. and you do this for ONE opening…

this job search game requires everything you got: strong portfolio and the top of the class only satisfies the minimal requirement.

having said that,
just sending out samplers will get you no-where. they will NEVER respond.
the reality is that they get samplers like that everyday.
you need a strategy with luck.( don’t ever under-estimate the luck factor in job search. )

I suggest you research the companies that you wish to work for.
find out whoever is already in the company ( try alumni net work) and
get your samplers to the RIGHT route so that it actually ends up with a manager…
while doing this, keep sharpening your skills.

I do wish you good luck in your search… it can get frustrating at times,but you chose to be a designer… we all go through this phase of job search.
Consider this experience as a part of becoming a designer…
Good luck.

first of all, i advise you not to consider yourself as the top of the class nor should you ever think that you have the strong portfolio.
even if you think it is true…

you are NOT competing your small number of classmates anymore.
you are out in the open, competing people all over the place who will be far more skilled and experienced. and you do this for ONE opening…