What to do when you find out your idea has already been done

I guess this is a question in regards to what is “acceptable” among designers. (I’m a student and academic rules might be different than real-world in this situation) Sorry if this is too verbose.

So I’ve been working on a design for the International Bicycle Design Competition for the past few weeks. My idea targets 3rd world and developing countries by 1. allowing individuals/communities the ability to use this bike to pump/transport water and 2. charge cell phones, as they are becoming more important in lesser developed countries where many people don’t have electricity in their homes.

So I work up this idea. It’s a regular bike, with a rack on the back to hold a water tank. the rack can rotate down to form a stand (like a bike trainer) so the bike can be pedaled while stationary. The drive system for the pump and generator run off of a hub mounted disk, not dissimilar to a disk brake.

A couple of days ago, I’m googling around for info on pumps and bike parts, and I encounter this project: Welcome thecoolprojectsite.org - Justhost.com (or here for more details on the build: Redirecting... ) Basically, it’s the same rotating stand idea. instead of the pump/generator on a ring/pinion drive system, they are run as a traction system from the tire.

So, my question is… Can I continue with my idea, or will it be considered plagiarism? Where do you draw the line? I certainly don’t want people to see my work and say “oh, this is the same design that we saw last week”… but at the same time, I could also see that maybe the presentation/form of it would be the bigger deal…

Anyone have thoughts on the matter?

Ford builds pickup trucks, Chevrolet builds pickup trucks, Toyota builds pickup trucks… … they’re all different in some way or another.

Keep at it. In my opinion, you’re not “plagiarizing” anything.