What steps to take to one day be a footwear designer?

Hi everyone,
I am fairly new to the forums here, and really admire the designers and work put up here on core77. I am a fourth year student at the University of California Irvine, and will be graduating with a studio art/digital art degree this year 2008. I am very interested in going into product design, and am thinking of attending either San Jose State University, Academy of Art, or Art Center.

I have always collected Jordans since Elementary school, and have always toyed with the idea of one day being able to design shoes for Jordan Brand. I have okay drawing skills, but no formal training in design sketching.

The reason I am posting here is that, being that I have no experience in Industrial/product design training, what kind of exercises or projects should/can I be doing/practicing while starting up an ID education, if I want to get into footwear design? MD and R, I really like your work, and want to know how I can build up an eye and sketching skills for designing shoes?

I know once I start up school, I will be sponging up product design skills and stuff from education, but what I want to know is what I can do on the side, or even now to improve skills or even gain skills to be able to one day be a footwear designer?

Oh, and I don’t really have a real polished portfolio at all, but some of the work I do have can be seen at www.coroflot.com/jthai21

Critiques are welcome, as I know my presentation skills are pretty bad. Thanks in advance.

1.) sketch as much as possible

2.) pay attention to the proportions of different types of footwear

3.) don’t be afraid to post them for critiques and apply critiques to future work

4.) enter some competitions, kicksguide.com is a good place to start

5.) sketch some more…

If only I could practice what I preach…

You have some unique work in your portfolio. Make sure to apply your style to your future work.

ScriptD pretty much hit the nail on the head.