what should i do now?

I am an industrial designer in my former country before i immigrant to Montreal. I am a little frustrated these days. The feeling just like lose my love. I love design so much. But it is difficult for me -a foreigner to be an industrial designer now. English is my second language, and i have only a little idea about French.The worst is the different culture makes a great gap between canadian designers and me. I am so confidence beforre. 4-year industrial design career gives me so much experience. It is my treasure. But now i doubt it. Can good fortforlio reprensts something? I am sad, can anybody help me out? :frowning:

Please start by working hard on your English and French language skills.

Only THEN does it get difficult finding a rewarding design job. Now it’s impossible.

what kind of level do i have to reach? to express my ideas? I can do some expression of my ideas. And i have thought that those drawings and presentations are also a kind of language. But i found it was not the case at all. For the reson of not fluent english, I am afraid of calling to an employer to say thanks. I also have difficulties to compliment a good design properly.That makes me looks like a layman.

By the way, anybody knows something about the employment rate of industrial design in montreal? I have to keep on going on my way of industrial design, otherwise it would be impossible for me to be happy again…

From my personal experience, people will look down on you if you don’t speak English well in the USA, a lot of them won’t care if you speak 5 other languages fluently…they will still treat you like a piece of shit, a really dumb piece of shit. Most of them just don’t have time to sit around and try to understand what you’re trying to say…