What schools are best for 3D modeling?

My daughter was enthalled watching the show Bones, where they do 3D forensic reconstruction via computer. I am wondering

1. What schools have 3d modeling programs?

2. Do any schools have computerized forensic reconstruction?

3. If not in undergraduate, what graduate programs have 3d modeling?

4. What major would 3d modeling be found?

Hi, I hope this help u, Umea Institute of design is opening a course for advanced visualization and animation next fall, applications are until april and the quality of education is really high…

www.dh.umu.se

for that stuff you have to learn it yourself. there’s no easy way out.

I have a friend working on PHD in forensic anthropology. Actuall was having a conversation about this topic with him. Mostly what you see on the shows such as CSI, and especially Fox’s Bones is Hollywood FX and not based on any real world practice in his feild. However there are labs that are using 3D scaners to scan skulls and create point cloud data. Then they hire animation experts from companies such as ILM to build the face based on average muscle structures. However he knows of only 5 such modelers who have the appropriate anatamy and Maya software training.

In other words they are computer animation people, who also have extensive anatamy training. Mainly they are movie CG professionals contracted to do the work.

and it takes 6-9 months for the animator to finish the model.

The Gnomon Shcool in Hollywood

3D modelling can apply to a number of different majors, realistically it’s a skill that can be picked up on your own and then applied to your academic field. Designers, architects, art students, entertainment design, etc all involve some elements of 3d modelling.

I’m sure the TV rendition is a bit more glamourized then real 3d modelling work, which typically involves staring at a computer screen for 14 hours a day till your eyes are bloodshot, only to have something not work out how you wanted it to.