What salary do you NEED?

There has been a lot of discussion on what the employers ARE paying designers. Your employers, especially consultancies would not (should not) sign off on a work proposal unless it pays their expenses as a minimum. Yes I know there are other factors such as PR, promised future work, and China that may influence the decision.
But my point is that you can’t stay in business unless you make a profit. So on the same note, I think you should ask yourself how much does it cost you TO BE designer and ask for what you need.

I am a designer in SF with several years of experience and here is what it costs me to live as a designer. Keep in mind this is a minimum.

(per day cost)
Food = $15
Clothes = $3
Car payment =$15
Gas = $6
Parking = $6
Insurance = $4
Maintenance = $2
Mortgage = $71
Property Tax = $9
Retirement = $12
Total = $143/day and $52,195/year

This is net pay. You will have to factor in taxes and any other expense that would affect your take home pay. Basically you will need a salary of $68K to just live here (not to just subsist)

Also note, that I did not include any entertainment expense or miscellaneous expenses.

The costs quoted would get you a Honda civic or Mazda 3 and a 1-bedroom condo. Not exactly living the life of luxury but I am not a student either. At today’s current housing prices, you should double the mortgage and property tax. (This would put you over $100K)

First of all, yes it is FU#!^& expensive to live here. Second, you can’t expect to get all the things your parents had at the same age. You will have to wait awhile before the condo. But the point is that you need to figure out what it costs you to do your job and ask for that much.

If you are lucky enough to have a significant other who still stays with you after you work so much, then you can lower your expenses but don’t take from their salary to supplement your employer. And never, never put off paying into your retirement.

Good thread!

More essentials: