What Masters Program?

Hi everyone!

I’m a young designer who’s considering going back to school for my Masters in one to three years. Does anyone have any suggestions for programs/fields that could pair nicely with a BFA in industrial design? What I’m primarily interested in is increasing earning potential and marketability, both as an industrial designer, and in tangent fields.

Some of the programs I’ve already jotted down are:

+human/computer interaction
+interaction design
+architecture
+mechanical engineering (possible to get into with a BFA?)
+psychology
+business
+communications

I know it’s a very diverse list, but I’m a guy who’s interested in a lot of different things.

This is more like a brainstorming session to generate ideas. Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks! :smiley:

depends on how much experience you have. If you have 10 years+ experience as a designer and director/manager, getting an MBA would put you in a great spot to be a VP somewhere (possibly of design, possibly of all product functions). But if you only have a few years experience, I don’t think it would help your earning potential. It would help you start your own business or transition to product/brand marketing if those are your goals.

human/computer interaction, interaction design would certainly make you more appealing, I’m not sure how much cash you will get, but certainly some other opportunities will be available.

psychology, harder to say, but if you were going to go down the road of a design researcher, this, or cultural anthropology wouldn’t hurt.

Begin with the end in mind. Where/who do you want to be?

As Yo has stated, I would suggest and MBA as well. More importantly you should put in some time getting work experience first. That way you’ll get more out of an MBA program and be more marketable than someone who pursued an MBA right after undergrad.