What Makes a Design Beautiful and Attractive To Us

Are there general rules to creating visually pleasing designs?
What makes certain products scream quality and beauty whilst other lacking designs look cheap and tacky.

I think this is one of the most important aspects of design, is it simply intuitive or can it be explained, I’m curious - any books/articles/websites on this matter would be really interesting. To me a good design must be consistent in style, but why a particular style is visually pleasing I’m far less sure on, I’d love to hear your views.

Read this.

Sit down with some Donald Norman books.

Thanks for the starting points, The Design of Everyday Things or Emotional Design: Why We Love (or Hate) Everyday Things any good yo?
To be honest I’m rather new to ID but I’m getting into to it early and trying to absorb as much advice and information as I can :slight_smile:

Both have some great thoughts, as does the book :Watches Tell More Than Time: Product Design, Information, and the Quest for Elegance by Del Coates (actually has a picture of a watch I worked on while at Evo…)

Dig in, this site has tons of good info. While many people argue that aesthetics are subjective, I think there are certain principals in our collective lexicon that attracts the majority of us to some things and repels us from others. We also play with these lexicons to create tribal indicators, a guy in kakis and a button down driving a volvo wearing penny loafers with a blackberry is telling something to the world with his choices and sending signals to potential friends and enemies about what he values. Then there is the function of form, how does a form lead us to intuitively use a product, much the way a handle tells us were to hold something.

Yo: I didn’t remember a lot about what makes something beautiful in Don Norman’s books. I haven’t read them since Uni though.