What laptop, running Rhino, Solidworks, Alias

I know this has been brought up before, but never a real straight answer.

I’m a student at CCAD, plan to do mostly softgoods out of school, I have a G5 for page layout and possible rendering with MAYA. I need a decent portable laptop preferably 14in wide, not Desktop Replacement, want to be mobile. Been looking at these:

1:Gateway® M210 series
http://makeashorterlink.com/?S5F1129AA

2:Compaq V2000 series
http://makeashorterlink.com/?Q3E1519AA

Plan to max out the Processor, hardrive, and ram.

What is that Extreme Graphics 2, will it stand up and render decent, I’m not looking for photo quality, I’ve got school machines to render, really just want to be able to model from home.

never used celeron, but supposedly you should stay away from them. they have very little level2 cache memory, so they don’t have the processing power of pentiums. i’ve also read that pentium m has decent integer performance, but lags behind pentium 4m in floating point, which would be important for crunching renders or rebuilding a history tree of a model, or computing a fillet surface.

intel extreme graphics 2 is intel’s integrated graphics chipset. if you buy a motherboard on a desktop machine with this, then there’s no add in video card, just a chip on the motherboard creating the 2d and 3d video. add in cards are much faster, so if you want to shade anything heavy or use texture maps in shaded mode, get a laptop (or desktop for that matter) with an add in video processor / video card. something like the dell precision laptops with ati firegl or nvidia quadro.

of course, those are mucho dinero, so in between there’s ati radeon and nvidia geforce, add in chips that don’t have the cad certifications. they’re faster than the intel onboard graphics, but may not work with your cad package of choice. also, intel graphics probably will suck if you want a 200 pixel airbrush to paint smoothly in photoshop. haven’t tried it myself, just a hunch.