What kind of goodies should I bring along?

I’d like to us you guys for some advice. I work as a designer for an American corporation with operations in China, mostly injection-molding and assembly and some support engineering as well. I’ll be going on a trip soon to visit the China facilities and I’d like to know what would be good gifts to bring, especially for the people working 14-hour shifts for $5 a day. Snickers bars? T-shirts? What would people there appreciate the most?

You sound condscending, you know…

Maybe a peanut M+M each, to symbolise an american visit, sweet at first then creamy finished with a crunchy blandness, ultimately left with nothing tangable.

What are you talking about? All I meant was I would like to bring some gift they’d appreciate, especially when some things we take for granted aren’t as affordable to most people over there. Any input would be greatly apppreciated.

johnny are you chewing gum? did you bring enough for the whole class…?
just who gets to receive these gifts? will you bestow everyone you meet with something?

I have been fortunate to be able to travel some myself; canada, japan, south america, and germany.

my advice would be to bring an open mind, a sense of humor, humility, a willingness to try a speak their language, eat their food, and get to know their culture. you will be able to give everyone you meet some of these.

leave the bling at home and dress as informally as you can get by with,
it probably won’t be that last time you’ll be there.

I think IOTA has a sincere question that everyone seems to be jumping all over. I go to China to do the same thing he will be doing (five times a year).

The factory people I deal with in China live very simple lives because of the pay scale there. They enjoy things like being treated to a nice dinner or lunch. They also enjoy drinking beer, which works out nicely - because I do too.