what is your job?

i assume this has been posted, but… what is your job in the field of industrial design. i’m really thinking about going back to undergrad for ID, but would like to know exactly what specific types/kind of jobs are out there.

thanks!

I design seasonal (Christmas, valentines, Easter, Halloween) Packaging for Mars Chocolate US. I work with a team of Packaging engineers in development of structural packaging, novelty items, merchandising, and art direction for each season. I am currently the only ID in the group as our other just moved on so I also support our other core brand teams meaning M&M’s, Snickers, Twix, Dove, etc…

I’m a freelance footwear designer, working across all categories of footwear. I have a degree in footwear, but you can also get into the shoe design arena with an ID degree.

The Design Process page on my site explains a little bit about how I work.

http://www.shoedesign.co.uk/design.htm

I’m Design Director for a business unit at a large, predominantly footwear, corporation. I set establish design languages, set design direction, research consumers, collaborate with innovation team on advanced concepts, manage the design process, grow/build/mentor the design team, establish product goals and best practices, present to upper leadership team as well as retailers, collaborate with brand design and marketing on our brand voice/ POP/ PR/ and packaging, and also design some shoes…

Outside of that, I am admin here, I contribute to core77 in other ways at times (author/ event producer/ consult) and I do freelance concept work in automotive/transportation, housewares, and CE.

I design kayaks and canoes for a major watersports company in South Carolina. Basically focus on developing the deck styling and ergonomics, creating the visual brand language for each line of boats and managing projects.