What is "Good Design"?

Hi everybody, this is my first post here. I’m an industrial designer based in southern california. Recently I was asked by my boss to try to define the meaning of “Good Design”, share it with the rest of the designers at our firm, and hopefully inspire them.

Since this is a pretty tough question for me to answer alone, I want to ask you all what is good design to you?

Deiter Rams is a great place to start:

Dieter comes to mind of course but I find his view and style almost dogmatic to the point where it becomes restricting. I am almost a bit annoyed by the fact that he now is synonymous with the term “good design”. That being said, of course he is a legend for a reason.

I can be immensely inspired by someone like Jamie Hayon and I would definitely call his work “good design”. However, it probably will not fair well, judged by Dieter’s rules.

I always liked to define “good” design as appropriate design and always thought that creating the appropriate response through the right process, is the true art.

For me so far there’s a couple ways I’ve been thinking about good design. One is to design by thoroughly thinking things through during the process and not make any design “mistakes”. If somebody can come to the design and poke holes through it, then there are design flaws. If a design is thoroughly defensible and reduced to its purest, most honest and elegant form then it can be considered a good design. I believe this is what Dieter Rams’ principles are great for. A good design is one that is what it wishes itself to be.