What is better an undergrad or grad degree in ID?

I am highly interested in becoming an Industrial Designer, but I have a degree in, and am employed in the I.T. field. I was wondering what the best path would be for someone who would like to change career fields. Thanks for any advice in advance. '0006

This topic, grad vs undergrad, was hottly debated some time back (bonus points to anyone who can dig it up, it went on for pages and pages)

What I took away from it is that there is no one way to do this. It is a decision that needs to be made on a individual basis.

I think, as with any decision making process, you can make a few generalizations that might help take you down the path to making the right choice. These MIGHT be a few of those.

Many undergrad programs focuss on core design skills. UC, Art Center, CIA, CCS and so on. If you lack basic modelmaking, sketching, rendering, vis com, color, composition, problem solving methodologies, prototyping, and 3d modeling skills, you may want to consider a second undergrad (you would probably do it in 3-3.5 years)

Many Masters programs focus more on big picture design strategy, methodology, and philosophy issues. They may touch on, or go in depth into design research, anthropology, design in business, marketing and so on. If you have a handle on most of the core skills, or the ability and drive to learn them on your own, you may want to consider going for the masters. If you do not have a design background, some grad programs tack on an additional 1 year or 1.5 years. Note that a masters degree will most likely not get you any or much additional pay, but it will enable you to teach full time (tenured) if you might like to do that down the road.

I hope that helps, I’m sure there will be more input on the subject.

That’s pretty much it.

on a tangent -
I wonder if somehere out there someone is asking “I have a Bachelors in Design but really want to be _____ should I get a 2nd bachelors or a Masters?”