What ID entails..

I’m a Junior in highschool, so I will begin my college search pretty soon. While trying to find potential fields to study, industrial design piqued my interest. I like to consider myself creative, and I am constantly thinking. I have a bunch of interests, and I am also thinking of my own designs of things related to these interests. For example, when I started playing paintball, I thought of my own paintball gun designs and barrel designs. I am an avid skier and I always think of how I would design my skis if I had the oppurtunity. I always love looking at concept cars, not necessarily for the tech specs, but rather how the exterior and interior look. In school, i constantly sketch, usually basic designs, all around my notebook. So naturally, industrial design seemed appealing to me.

But, there’s a dillemma. I’ve never really pursued art. I am not that great at drawing. I mean, I can express my ideas with pictures, but I can’t figure draw, and I can’t exactly shade to make pictures look realistic. The only prior experience with art I have is from some basic art classes in grammer school. I really have no portfolio to speak of, and if I had to make one, all I’d know how to do is pen and ink, pastel, or scratchboard. I don’t know if I would be able to make the jump to an art school with this talent/skill/experience or whatever.

So i guess my question is, what would being an ID student entail? Would, in your opinion, I be at a disadvantage going into an ID program? Also, what could I do to a.) better prepare myself, or b.) find out if this is really the direction I want to take my education in.

Thanks for any help in advance.