What features to look for in a Printer?

I’ve read all the past posts on what printers are better Epson or Canon. What I really want to know is what kind of features do people find necessary. Like min. dpi , ram, how big a difference do 6 or 8 inks make instead of just 4, 2 sided printing…etc. Are the all in one printer/scanners still good for quailty prints.

I’m a student so I would only be printing 8.5x11 or 11x17 stuff for my portfoilo or presentations, and i can’t afford the large format printers anyway.

So what things should I look for and what things should I lookout for?
At this point i’m only considering Epson or a Canon. Are there any models made by these two companies that I should stay away from? Looking to spend between $100 to $300.

Thanks

I was llooking for 11" X 17" when I bought the HP 1220C. But I would not think you would find a good 11" X 17" printer until you get into the $400-$500 price range. I am sure someone will prove me wrong though :slight_smile:

11 x 17 really isn’t very important…and upon looking at printers all day I didn’t find any that would print that size that were’t large format. So I guess I’m only concerned about 8.5 x 11, but high quality. I need something that I can print my teasers/portfolio on and be confident mailing them out to professionals if needed.