What do I do!? (urgent)

Today I got offered an entry level graphic design internship, designing user interfaces, which has a good salary. However I have been offered a footwear design internship at a small minimalist running shoe company (unpaid position). My passion is with footwear, I know I will have fun there, however I fear this will ‘‘pigeon-hole’’ me as a designer. On the flip side, taking the graphic design position will expose me to something new and will broaden my skill-set. This position is also at big corporation and will look good on my resume.

Any advice?

Taking the graphic design position will pigeon hole you into something you are not passionate about but the footwear position will pigeon hole you in something you are passionate about.

Also, pigeon holing is entirely dependent on you and how you convey yourself. I was a footwear designer for 8 years. Now I run a multi disciplinary team at a CE company responsible for research, product strategy, opportunity assessment, product design, UX strategy, app design, packaging, and marketing creative.

You are your only limiter.

Now, all that said, money is something else. If you can afford to take the unpaid position temporarily, and you really are passionate about footwear and good at it, this is a non conversation.

If you can’t afford to take the unpaid position, but the other two hold try, put your negotiating hat on.

if you really aren’t that passionate about footwear and not that good at it, looks like you are going to take the visual design job.

Things are actually simple. Emotion confuses things, naturally, we are human. But boil all that off and the decisions make themselves.

What Yo said verbatim.

Also consider your risk level now vs risk level later. I’m assuming you are younger, its easier to now to slum it a bit, living below your means in easier when you don’t have others to support (kids/wife/elderly parents/mortgage). (again assuming)