What do design researcher's [b]job portfolio[/b] look like?

What do design researcher’s job portfolio look like?
Do you design objects based on your research and show all these processes as a booklet? Or do you just show the finalized research result?

Good question. I would love to hear other people’s responses.

In my experience, it depends on the client and project. Clients often want the “bottom line” recommendations on what to do. As a researcher, I don’t generally provide more than a suggestive mock-up if it is an interface. I mostly work with interface design. I’ve worked with product consultancies, but never in one, so I don’t know the process how research is translated into deliverables there.

The big issue with design research is “what next”? I have done user evaluations of several product design alternatives, and simply told the client how the alternatives fared in different respects (men thought this one looked too girly, young people thought this looked too old.) The client needs to figure out what is important to them, so I don’t make a specific recommendation in such cases.

A lot of research is exploratory, for the “fuzzy front end” of development. You may want to share insights into the lives of customers, what is important to them personally. It is very helpful to show video or photos from the lives of customers to get these insights accross. Writing seems to kill the freshness.

In general, I try to pick highlights from the research process to help the client understand how I have arrived at my insights. It is helpful to show what is involved in the process – there is often a lot of donkey work, and clients need to know how much effort has gone into getting the juicy bits you have distilled. Still, few clients want to hear every last detail of what you did. When that happens, either you are showing off, or they are micromanaging.

What about the experiences of others?